top of page

Blog

Competition Brief: Network Rail


Network Rail competition winners - 6th Feb 2018

In November last year, I entered a competition run by Network Rail, to create a mural based on Leeds/West Yorkshire.


I decided to illustrate Emley Moor Mast, surrounded in it's natural habitat of idyllic Yorkshire scenery. For me, the tower has a homely aura, as from being a small child I've always been able to see it from my house, or poking above hilltops on my way home on the M62 - when you see it, you know you're home. 


I originally opted for the colour scheme purple, as this is the colour which represents Northern Rail, the train operator which I frequently use to travel throughout Yorkshire. I've always thought purple was a very satisfying, aesthetically pleasing colour, and if my work were to be displayed on platform 16, it would definitely compliment the Northern trains stationed below. (That and it matches my hair 👍🏻)

I included livestock in the fields to reflect Yorkshire's agricultural heritage - the annual Yorkshire Show is the biggest agricultural event in the country.

Illustrated in my piece are two aeroplanes, to represent Leeds Bradford Airport. I often see jet trails in the sky above my house, and have travelled to new and exciting destinations from the airport myself.



My work got accepted!! But Network Rail requested that I change the colour scheme, as they felt it may have been washed out by some of the other pieces, as they were all very bright.

So this was my final piece:




The murals went up at the end of January and are staying up for the foreseeable future! It's really exciting to know that I've got one of my illustrations up in a major train station that hundreds of people will see every day - and I got paid! It's great to know that as a young start-up freelance illustrator, the work we do is valued and respected.


If you're in Leeds station make sure you check it out! There's also work from some of my Vis Com mates up as well 👍🏻


Bronte

P.S. It's finally sunny! yay ☀️





bottom of page